Fixins
All guides

Best recipe apps with a grocery list (2026)

We make Fixins, so we’ve put it first. Every other app here is described as fairly as we can, from its own website or app store listing.

Updated

Every app here turns recipes into a grocery list. They differ in where the recipes come from and what the list can do. Fixins lists only what you’re missing from your pantry and sends it to Instacart checkout. AnyList, Paprika and Plan to Eat build lists from recipes you save, ReciMe from recipes you save from social apps, and NYT Cooking from its own tested recipes.

See what your own kitchen can make.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins

First

The short version

What to look for

Look for a list that combines ingredients across recipes and sorts them the way you shop. If someone else shops too, look for sharing. If you order groceries online, check which stores the list can go to.

The list

The apps, one by one

  • Fixins

    The list starts from your pantry: pick a creator recipe and only the ingredients you’re missing go on the list, grouped by aisle. One tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source
    Price
    Subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Yes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcode and it goes into your pantry with an expiration estimate; Fixins sends expiration alertssource 1source 2
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource
  • AnyList

    A grocery list first, shared in real time and sorted into categories you can arrange to match your store, with recipes that add their ingredients in one tap.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later), Android, Mac and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, AnyList Complete: $9.99 a year for one person or $14.99 a year for a householdsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and blogssource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A shared grocery list that sorts itself into categories you can arrange to match your store; no ordering or delivery stated on its sitesource 1source 2
  • Paprika

    Grocery lists that combine ingredients across recipes and sort them by aisle, from a recipe library you pay for once.

    Where it runs
    iOS, Mac, Android and Windows; the iPhone and iPad app needs iOS 12 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Paid once, sold separately for each platform; $4.99 on the App Storesource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listing. It has a pantry you fill in yourself, with expiry datessource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you download from websites or add yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists that combine ingredients and sort them by aisle; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • ReciMe

    Grocery lists sorted by aisle or by recipe, built from recipes you save from social apps, with in-app ordering for delivery.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 17 or later), Android, web and a Chrome extensionsource 1source 2
    Price
    Free version (5 recipe imports a week), or a premium subscription with a 7-day free trialsource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube, or from screenshots and photos of handwritten recipessource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists sorted by aisle or recipe, with in-app grocery ordering for deliverysource
  • Plan to Eat

    A shopping list built from your weekly meal plan, organized by store and aisle.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the website plantoeat.comsource 1source 2
    Price
    14-day free trial with no card needed, then $5.95 a month or $49 a yearsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you import from the web or enter yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    A shopping list built from your meal plan, organized by store and aislesource
  • NYT Cooking

    A built-in grocery list for over 20,000 tested recipes, with delivery via Instacart.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later) and Androidsource 1source 2
    Price
    Subscription for unlimited accesssource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Over 20,000 tested recipes from New York Times Cookingsource
    Missing ingredients
    A built-in grocery list, with grocery delivery via Instacartsource

Trying Fixins

Getting started with Fixins

  • Get Fixins on your iPhone

    Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.

  • Scan your groceries

    Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.

  • Add your own recipes

    The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.

  • Cook tonight

    See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

Questions

Questions people ask

Which recipe apps send the grocery list to Instacart?

Fixins sends what you’re missing to Instacart checkout. NYT Cooking offers grocery delivery via Instacart. ReciMe offers in-app grocery ordering for delivery.

Which ones can I share with my partner?

AnyList shares lists in real time, and Plan to Eat syncs across your family’s devices. In Fixins, your household can share one kitchen, pantry and list.

Which ones are free?

AnyList is free with an optional paid plan, and ReciMe has a free version. Paprika is paid once per platform. Plan to Eat, NYT Cooking and Fixins are subscriptions.

Keep reading

Related guides

Cook from what you have

Facts checked on October 21, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.

Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins