Fixins
All guides

Best recipe apps for iPhone (2026)

We make Fixins, so we’ve put it first. Every other app here is described as fairly as we can, from its own website or app store listing.

Updated

Recipe apps for iPhone split by where the recipes come from. Fixins shows recipes from creators that you can make with what you’ve scanned. Paprika, Crouton and Mela keep a library of recipes you save from the web or a cookbook. NYT Cooking has its own tested recipes, and ReciMe saves recipes from social apps.

See what your own kitchen can make.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins

First

The short version

What to look for

If you already have recipes you love, pick a manager that imports them well. If you want new ideas, pick an app with recipes of its own. Then check the price model: paid once, free with upgrades, or a subscription.

The list

The apps, one by one

  • Fixins

    Built for iOS 26: scan your groceries, see creator recipes you can cook tonight, cook in step-by-step mode, and send what’s missing to Instacart. The scanner also adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source
    Price
    Subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Yes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcode and it goes into your pantry with an expiration estimate; Fixins sends expiration alertssource 1source 2
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource
  • Paprika

    A recipe manager that downloads recipes from websites, with a meal planner, a pantry and aisle-sorted lists, paid once at $4.99 on the App Store.

    Where it runs
    iOS, Mac, Android and Windows; the iPhone and iPad app needs iOS 12 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Paid once, sold separately for each platform; $4.99 on the App Storesource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listing. It has a pantry you fill in yourself, with expiry datessource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you download from websites or add yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists that combine ingredients and sort them by aisle; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • Crouton

    Imports recipes from websites, cookbook pages and photos, with a step-by-step mode, timers and Apple Watch support.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro; the iPhone app needs iOS 16.1 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Free to download, with optional paid upgrades on the App Storesource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you import from websites, cookbook pages, photos or text, or add yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    Shopping lists from your recipes, with Reminders integration; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • Mela

    A simple recipe manager with an in-app browser that spots recipes on a page, a cook mode, and iCloud sync to iPad and Mac.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iPad and Mac, synced with iCloud; the iPhone app needs iOS 15 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Free to download; a one-time purchase unlocks all featuressource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and recipe blogs, or scan from a booksource
    Missing ingredients
    Groceries kept in Apple’s Reminders app; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • NYT Cooking

    Over 20,000 tested recipes with videos from New York Times Cooking, a recipe box and a grocery list.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later) and Androidsource 1source 2
    Price
    Subscription for unlimited accesssource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Over 20,000 tested recipes from New York Times Cookingsource
    Missing ingredients
    A built-in grocery list, with grocery delivery via Instacartsource
  • ReciMe

    Saves recipes from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube into cookbooks, meal plans and grocery lists.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 17 or later), Android, web and a Chrome extensionsource 1source 2
    Price
    Free version (5 recipe imports a week), or a premium subscription with a 7-day free trialsource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube, or from screenshots and photos of handwritten recipessource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists sorted by aisle or recipe, with in-app grocery ordering for deliverysource

Trying Fixins

Getting started with Fixins

  • Get Fixins on your iPhone

    Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.

  • Scan your groceries

    Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.

  • Add your own recipes

    The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.

  • Cook tonight

    See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

Questions

Questions people ask

What’s a good free recipe app for iPhone?

Crouton and Mela are free to download, with paid upgrades. ReciMe has a free version with 5 recipe imports a week. Paprika is $4.99 once. NYT Cooking and Fixins are subscriptions.

Which iPhone recipe apps also run on Mac?

Paprika, Crouton and Mela all have Mac apps. Fixins is an iPhone app.

Which ones can scan a recipe from a cookbook?

Crouton and Mela scan recipes from a book. The Fixins scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes.

Keep reading

Related guides

Cook from what you have

Facts checked on October 21, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.

Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins