Fixins
More comparisons

Paprika alternatives (2026)

We make Fixins, so we’ve put it first. Every other app here is described as fairly as we can, from its own website or app store listing.

Updated

Paprika is a recipe manager you pay for once per platform, and it saves recipes from websites into one library with grocery lists and a meal planner. If you’d rather cook from what’s already in your kitchen than build a library, Fixins scans your groceries and shows creator recipes you can make tonight. If you want another recipe manager, Crouton and Mela suit Apple devices, AnyList pairs recipes with a shared list, Plan to Eat adds a planner, and ReciMe saves recipes from social apps.

See what your own kitchen can make.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins

First

The short version

What Paprika does

Paprika downloads recipes from websites or lets you type your own, sorts grocery lists by aisle, keeps a pantry you fill in with expiry dates, and plans meals on a calendar. It runs on iOS, Mac, Android and Windows, each sold separately; the App Store version is $4.99.source 1source 2

What to look for instead

Check where your recipes live today and which devices you cook from. A one-time price, an import from Paprika and a meal planner matter more to some cooks than others, so the list below says plainly what each app does.

The list

The apps, one by one

  • Fixins

    For cooks whose saved recipes go unmade. Instead of a library you fill, Fixins starts from your pantry: scan your groceries, see creator recipes you can make tonight, and add your own handwritten or cookbook recipes with the same scanner.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source
    Price
    Subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Yes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcode and it goes into your pantry with an expiration estimate; Fixins sends expiration alertssource 1source 2
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource
  • Crouton

    A recipe manager for iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch that imports from websites, cookbook pages and photos, with a step-by-step cooking view.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro; the iPhone app needs iOS 16.1 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Free to download, with optional paid upgrades on the App Storesource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you import from websites, cookbook pages, photos or text, or add yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    Shopping lists from your recipes, with Reminders integration; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • Mela

    A simple recipe manager for iPhone, iPad and Mac, synced through iCloud, with a one-time purchase to unlock everything.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iPad and Mac, synced with iCloud; the iPhone app needs iOS 15 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Free to download; a one-time purchase unlocks all featuressource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and recipe blogs, or scan from a booksource
    Missing ingredients
    Groceries kept in Apple’s Reminders app; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • AnyList

    Recipes beside a grocery list your household shares in real time, on iPhone, Android, Mac and the web.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later), Android, Mac and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, AnyList Complete: $9.99 a year for one person or $14.99 a year for a householdsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and blogssource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A shared grocery list that sorts itself into categories you can arrange to match your store; no ordering or delivery stated on its sitesource 1source 2
  • Plan to Eat

    Your recipes on a meal-planning calendar, with one shopping list organized by store and aisle, on iPhone, Android and the web.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the website plantoeat.comsource 1source 2
    Price
    14-day free trial with no card needed, then $5.95 a month or $49 a yearsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you import from the web or enter yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    A shopping list built from your meal plan, organized by store and aislesource
  • ReciMe

    For recipes that live in your saved posts: it saves them from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube into meal plans and grocery lists.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 17 or later), Android, web and a Chrome extensionsource 1source 2
    Price
    Free version (5 recipe imports a week), or a premium subscription with a 7-day free trialsource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube, or from screenshots and photos of handwritten recipessource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists sorted by aisle or recipe, with in-app grocery ordering for deliverysource

Trying Fixins

Getting started with Fixins

  • Get Fixins on your iPhone

    Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.

  • Scan your groceries

    Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.

  • Add your own recipes

    The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.

  • Cook tonight

    See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

Questions

Questions people ask

Is there a Paprika alternative without a subscription?

Mela is free to download, with a one-time purchase to unlock all features. Crouton is free to download, with optional paid upgrades. AnyList is free, with an optional paid plan. Fixins is a subscription.

Which alternatives run on Android?

AnyList, Plan to Eat and ReciMe run on Android. Crouton and Mela are for Apple devices. Fixins runs on iPhone with iOS 26 or later, in the United States and Canada.

Which ones take my own family recipes?

The Fixins scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes. Crouton and Mela scan recipes from a book, and Plan to Eat lets you enter family recipes by hand.

Keep reading

Related guides

Cook from what you have

Facts checked on October 21, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.

Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins