Fixins
All guides

Best meal planning apps for families (2026)

We make Fixins, so we’ve put it first. Every other app here is described as fairly as we can, from its own website or app store listing.

Updated

Families tend to need two pieces: everyone seeing the same plan and list, and less time deciding dinner. Fixins handles the deciding: your household shares one kitchen, and it shows creator recipes you can make tonight from what you have. For a weekly plan, Plan to Eat, Cozi, AnyList and Samsung Food share recipes, calendars and lists across the family, and eMeals sends you a ready-made menu each week.

See what your own kitchen can make.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins

First

The short version

What to look for

Check how the family shares: one account, invites, or a shared list that updates as someone shops. Then decide whether you want to plan from your own recipes, from a ready-made menu, or from what’s already in the kitchen.

The list

The apps, one by one

  • Fixins

    Not a calendar planner: it decides tonight. Invite your household to share one pantry and one grocery list, scan your groceries, and see creator recipes you can make with what you have.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source
    Price
    Subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Yes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcode and it goes into your pantry with an expiration estimate; Fixins sends expiration alertssource 1source 2
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource
  • Plan to Eat

    Your own family recipes on a meal-planning calendar, with one shopping list, synced across every device in the family.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the website plantoeat.comsource 1source 2
    Price
    14-day free trial with no card needed, then $5.95 a month or $49 a yearsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you import from the web or enter yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    A shopping list built from your meal plan, organized by store and aislesource
  • Cozi

    Meals on the same color-coded family calendar as school and practice, with a recipe box and a shopping list everyone sees in real time.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 17 or later), Android and mobile browserssource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, Cozi Goldsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Your own recipes, kept in its recipe boxsource
    Missing ingredients
    A shared shopping list the whole family sees in real time; no ordering stated on its listingsource
  • AnyList

    A grocery list the household shares in real time, with recipes and a meal-planning calendar in its household plan at $14.99 a year.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later), Android, Mac and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, AnyList Complete: $9.99 a year for one person or $14.99 a year for a householdsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and blogssource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A shared grocery list that sorts itself into categories you can arrange to match your store; no ordering or delivery stated on its sitesource 1source 2
  • eMeals

    7 new recipes a week from 15 meal plans, and a shopping list it can send to Instacart, Walmart, Kroger and other grocery services.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 16.6 or later), Android and websource 1source 2
    Price
    14-day free trial, then plans from $4.99 a month on a 12-month subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    7 new recipes a week across 15 meal plans, from its food team and registered dietitianssource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    Sends the list to Albertsons, Amazon Fresh, Instacart, Kroger, Safeway or Walmart for pickup or deliverysource
  • Samsung Food

    Free weekly planning with shared shopping lists, over 240,000 public recipes and delivery from partner retailers.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, Samsung Food+ ($6.99 a month or $59.99 a year on the App Store)source
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listing. Its paid plan lists pantry managementsource
    Where recipes come from
    Over 240,000 public recipes, plus recipes you save from any websitesource
    Missing ingredients
    Shared shopping lists, with delivery from 23 integrated retailers in 4 regionssource

Trying Fixins

Getting started with Fixins

  • Get Fixins on your iPhone

    Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.

  • Scan your groceries

    Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.

  • Add your own recipes

    The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.

  • Cook tonight

    See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

Questions

Questions people ask

What’s a free meal planning app for families?

Cozi, AnyList and Samsung Food are free, each with an optional paid plan. Plan to Eat and eMeals start with a free trial. Fixins is a subscription.

Which family meal planners can order groceries?

eMeals sends the list to Albertsons, Amazon Fresh, Instacart, Kroger, Safeway or Walmart. Samsung Food offers delivery from partner retailers. Fixins sends what you’re missing to Instacart checkout.

Which ones work on Android and iPhone both?

Plan to Eat, Cozi, AnyList, eMeals and Samsung Food run on both. Fixins runs on iPhone with iOS 26 or later, in the United States and Canada.

Keep reading

Related guides

Cook from what you have

Facts checked on October 21, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.

Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins