Fixins
More comparisons

Plan to Eat alternatives (2026)

We make Fixins, so we’ve put it first. Every other app here is described as fairly as we can, from its own website or app store listing.

Updated

Plan to Eat keeps your own recipes, puts them on a meal-planning calendar and builds one shopping list, for $5.95 a month or $49 a year after a 14-day free trial. If you’d rather start from what’s already in your kitchen than from a plan, Fixins scans your groceries and shows creator recipes you can cook tonight. For another planner, Samsung Food, AnyList and Prepear are free with optional paid plans, and Paprika is paid once per platform.

See what your own kitchen can make.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins

First

The short version

What Plan to Eat does

You import recipes from the web or type in family recipes, plan them on a calendar, and Plan to Eat builds a shopping list organized by store and aisle. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and plantoeat.com, with a 14-day free trial, then $5.95 a month or $49 a year.source 1source 2

What to look for instead

If the price is the reason you’re looking, start with the free apps. If planning the week has become a chore, consider an app that starts from what you already have.

The list

The apps, one by one

  • Fixins

    For weeks when planning doesn’t happen: scan your groceries, see creator recipes you can make tonight, and add your own handwritten or cookbook recipes with the same scanner.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source
    Price
    Subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Yes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcode and it goes into your pantry with an expiration estimate; Fixins sends expiration alertssource 1source 2
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource
  • Paprika

    Your own recipe library with a meal planner, reusable menus and aisle-sorted grocery lists, paid once per platform instead of a subscription.

    Where it runs
    iOS, Mac, Android and Windows; the iPhone and iPad app needs iOS 12 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Paid once, sold separately for each platform; $4.99 on the App Storesource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listing. It has a pantry you fill in yourself, with expiry datessource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you download from websites or add yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists that combine ingredients and sort them by aisle; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource
  • AnyList

    Free recipes and a shared grocery list, with a meal-planning calendar in its paid plan at $9.99 a year for one person or $14.99 for a household.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later), Android, Mac and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, AnyList Complete: $9.99 a year for one person or $14.99 a year for a householdsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and blogssource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A shared grocery list that sorts itself into categories you can arrange to match your store; no ordering or delivery stated on its sitesource 1source 2
  • Samsung Food

    Free weekly planning with recipes saved from any website, shared shopping lists and over 240,000 public recipes.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, Samsung Food+ ($6.99 a month or $59.99 a year on the App Store)source
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listing. Its paid plan lists pantry managementsource
    Where recipes come from
    Over 240,000 public recipes, plus recipes you save from any websitesource
    Missing ingredients
    Shared shopping lists, with delivery from 23 integrated retailers in 4 regionssource
  • Prepear

    Free recipe saving with no recipe limit, free weekly planning, and a grocery list that its mobile app can send to Walmart.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15.1 or later), Android and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, Prepear Goldsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save or import, plus public recipes; paid creator content is offered separatelysource
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list from your meal plan; in the mobile app, Shop Now sends it to Walmart for pickup or deliverysource

Trying Fixins

Getting started with Fixins

  • Get Fixins on your iPhone

    Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.

  • Scan your groceries

    Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.

  • Add your own recipes

    The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.

  • Cook tonight

    See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

Questions

Questions people ask

Is there a free alternative to Plan to Eat?

Samsung Food, AnyList and Prepear are free, each with an optional paid plan. Paprika is a one-time purchase per platform; it’s $4.99 on the App Store. Fixins is a subscription.

Which alternatives let me enter family recipes by hand?

Paprika lets you add your own recipes beside the ones you download. The Fixins scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes.

Which ones run on Android?

Paprika, AnyList, Samsung Food and Prepear all run on Android. Fixins runs on iPhone with iOS 26 or later, in the United States and Canada.

Keep reading

Related guides

Cook from what you have

Facts checked on October 21, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.

Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins