Fixins
More comparisons

Samsung Food alternatives (2026)

We make Fixins, so we’ve put it first. Every other app here is described as fairly as we can, from its own website or app store listing.

Updated

Samsung Food is a free meal planner with over 240,000 public recipes, recipe saving from any website, shared shopping lists and grocery delivery from partner retailers. If you’d rather decide dinner from what’s already in your kitchen, Fixins scans your groceries and shows creator recipes you can cook tonight. For another planner, Plan to Eat, AnyList and Prepear pair recipes with a calendar and a list, and Paprika keeps a library you pay for once.

See what your own kitchen can make.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins

First

The short version

What Samsung Food does

Samsung Food searches over 240,000 public recipes by ingredient, saves recipes from any website, turns weekly plans into shopping lists you can share, and offers delivery from 23 integrated retailers in 4 regions. It’s free on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, with an optional paid plan, Samsung Food+.source

What to look for instead

Most people who leave a planner want to keep three pieces: their saved recipes, a weekly plan, and a list the household shares. Check which of those each app keeps, and whether you’d rather start from a plan or from your pantry.

The list

The apps, one by one

  • Fixins

    Starts from your pantry instead of a plan: scan your groceries with your iPhone, see creator recipes you can make tonight, and anything missing goes to Instacart checkout. Your household can share one kitchen.

    Where it runs
    iPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source
    Price
    Subscriptionsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Yes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcode and it goes into your pantry with an expiration estimate; Fixins sends expiration alertssource 1source 2
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource
  • Plan to Eat

    For planners who keep their own recipes: a meal-planning calendar and a shopping list organized by store and aisle, synced across the family’s devices.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the website plantoeat.comsource 1source 2
    Price
    14-day free trial with no card needed, then $5.95 a month or $49 a yearsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you import from the web or enter yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    A shopping list built from your meal plan, organized by store and aislesource
  • AnyList

    A shared grocery list that updates as someone shops, with recipes and a meal-planning calendar beside it.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 18 or later), Android, Mac and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, AnyList Complete: $9.99 a year for one person or $14.99 a year for a householdsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save from websites and blogssource 1source 2
    Missing ingredients
    A shared grocery list that sorts itself into categories you can arrange to match your store; no ordering or delivery stated on its sitesource 1source 2
  • Prepear

    Free recipe saving and weekly planning, and in the mobile app, Shop Now sends your list to Walmart for pickup or delivery.

    Where it runs
    iPhone and iPad (iOS 15.1 or later), Android and websource 1source 2
    Price
    Free, with an optional paid plan, Prepear Goldsource
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listingsource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you save or import, plus public recipes; paid creator content is offered separatelysource
    Missing ingredients
    A grocery list from your meal plan; in the mobile app, Shop Now sends it to Walmart for pickup or deliverysource
  • Paprika

    A recipe library with a meal planner and aisle-sorted grocery lists, paid once per platform.

    Where it runs
    iOS, Mac, Android and Windows; the iPhone and iPad app needs iOS 12 or latersource 1source 2
    Price
    Paid once, sold separately for each platform; $4.99 on the App Storesource 1source 2
    Scan your pantry with the camera
    Not stated on its listing. It has a pantry you fill in yourself, with expiry datessource
    Where recipes come from
    Recipes you download from websites or add yourselfsource
    Missing ingredients
    Grocery lists that combine ingredients and sort them by aisle; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource

Trying Fixins

Getting started with Fixins

  • Get Fixins on your iPhone

    Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.

  • Scan your groceries

    Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.

  • Add your own recipes

    The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.

  • Cook tonight

    See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.

Questions

Questions people ask

Is there a free alternative to Samsung Food?

Prepear and AnyList are free, each with an optional paid plan. Plan to Eat has a 14-day free trial, then costs $5.95 a month or $49 a year. Paprika is paid once per platform. Fixins is a subscription.

Which alternatives can order groceries?

In Prepear’s mobile app, Shop Now sends your list to Walmart for pickup or delivery. Fixins sends what you’re missing to Instacart checkout.

Which ones run on Android?

Plan to Eat, AnyList, Prepear and Paprika all run on Android. Fixins runs on iPhone with iOS 26 or later, in the United States and Canada.

Keep reading

Related guides

Cook from what you have

Facts checked on October 21, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.

Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.

On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.

Get Fixins