Mealime alternatives
Mealime’s closing notice sets October 21, 2026 as its last day and points users to Meals Hub in Albertsons Companies grocery apps. Plan to Eat, Prepear and Samsung Food are meal planners with grocery lists. Fixins starts from your kitchen instead: you scan your groceries with the camera, cook recipes from creators, and a grocery list covers anything missing.source
If you want another meal planner with a grocery list, Plan to Eat, Prepear and Samsung Food all run on iPhone, Android and the web. Prepear and Samsung Food are free with optional paid plans; Plan to Eat has a 14-day free trial, then a paid plan. Fixins works differently: instead of planning first, you scan what’s in your kitchen and cook a creator’s recipe from it.
See what your own kitchen can make.
On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.
At a glance
Fact by fact
| Fact | Fixins | Plan to Eat | Prepear | Samsung Food |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Where it runs | FixinsiPhone, iOS 26 or later (United States and Canada)source | Plan to EatiPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the website plantoeat.comsource 1source 2 | PrepeariPhone and iPad (iOS 15.1 or later), Android and websource 1source 2 | Samsung FoodiPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and websource 1source 2 |
| Price | FixinsSubscriptionsource | Plan to Eat14-day free trial with no card needed, then $5.95 a month or $49 a yearsource | PrepearFree, with an optional paid plan, Prepear Goldsource | Samsung FoodFree, with an optional paid plan, Samsung Food+source |
| Scan your pantry with the camera | FixinsYes: point the camera at a grocery item or barcodesource | Plan to EatNot stated on its listingsource | PrepearNot stated on its listingsource | Samsung FoodNot stated on its listing. Its paid plan lists pantry managementsource |
| Where recipes come from | FixinsRecipes from creators, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipessource 1source 2 | Plan to EatRecipes you import from the web or enter yourselfsource | PrepearRecipes you save from the web or add yourself, plus public recipes; paid creator content is offered separatelysource 1source 2 | Samsung FoodOver 240,000 public recipes, plus recipes you save from any websitesource |
| Missing ingredients | FixinsA grocery list of what you're missing, grouped by aisle; one tap sends it to Instacart checkoutsource | Plan to EatA shopping list built from your meal plan; no ordering or delivery stated on its listingsource | PrepearA grocery list from your meal plan; in the mobile app, Shop Now sends it to Walmart for pickup or deliverysource | Samsung FoodShared shopping lists, with delivery from 23 integrated retailers in 4 regionssource |
In detail
How the apps differ
Where it runs
Plan to Eat runs on iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the web at plantoeat.com. Prepear runs on iPhone and iPad (iOS 15.1 or later), Android and the web. Samsung Food runs on iPhone and iPad (iOS 15 or later), Android and the web. Fixins is an iPhone app that needs iOS 26 or later, in the United States and Canada. If you plan on a computer or share the job with someone on Android, all three planners cover that.
Sources: Fixins, Plan to Eat 1, Plan to Eat 2, Prepear 1, Prepear 2, Samsung Food 1, Samsung Food 2
Price
Plan to Eat has a 14-day free trial with no card needed, then costs $5.95 a month or $49 a year. Prepear is free, with an optional paid plan, Prepear Gold. Samsung Food is free, with an optional paid plan, Samsung Food+. Fixins is a subscription. If you want to keep planning without paying, Prepear and Samsung Food both have free versions.
Sources: Fixins, Plan to Eat, Prepear, Samsung Food
Scan your pantry with the camera
The App Store listings for Plan to Eat, Prepear and Samsung Food don’t mention scanning your pantry with the camera, though Samsung Food’s paid plan lists pantry management. Fixins starts from the pantry: point the iPhone camera at a grocery item or its barcode, then see recipes that use what you have.
Sources: Fixins, Plan to Eat, Prepear, Samsung Food
Where recipes come from
Plan to Eat holds recipes you import from the web or enter yourself, which suits a family recipe collection. Prepear holds recipes you save from the web or add yourself, plus public recipes, and offers paid creator content separately. Samsung Food has over 240,000 public recipes and saves recipes from any website. Fixins shows recipes that creators post in Fixins themselves, plus your own handwritten or cookbook recipes added with the scanner.
Sources: Fixins 1, Fixins 2, Plan to Eat, Prepear 1, Prepear 2, Samsung Food
Missing ingredients
Plan to Eat builds a shopping list from your meal plan; its listing doesn’t mention ordering or delivery. Prepear builds a grocery list from your meal plan, and in its mobile app Shop Now sends it to Walmart for pickup or delivery. Samsung Food has shared shopping lists, with delivery from 23 integrated retailers in 4 regions. Fixins lists just what you’re missing, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.
Sources: Fixins, Plan to Eat, Prepear, Samsung Food
Trying Fixins
Getting started with Fixins
Get Fixins on your iPhone
Fixins needs iOS 26 or later and is available in the United States and Canada.
Scan your groceries
Point the camera at a grocery item or its barcode and it goes into your digital pantry.
Add your own recipes
The same scanner adds your own handwritten or cookbook recipes, like a family recipe card or a page from a cookbook you love.
Cook tonight
See the creator recipes you can make with what you already have. Anything missing goes on your grocery list, grouped by aisle, and one tap sends it to Instacart checkout.
Questions
Questions people ask
When does Mealime close?
Mealime’s closing notice sets October 21, 2026 as its last day and points users to Meals Hub in Albertsons Companies grocery apps.source
Which Mealime alternatives are free?
Prepear and Samsung Food are free, each with an optional paid plan (Prepear Gold and Samsung Food+). Plan to Eat has a 14-day free trial, then costs $5.95 a month or $49 a year. Fixins is a subscription.
Which alternatives can send my list to a store?
In Prepear’s mobile app, Shop Now sends your list to Walmart for pickup or delivery. Samsung Food lists delivery from 23 integrated retailers in 4 regions. Fixins sends what you’re missing to Instacart checkout. Plan to Eat’s listing doesn’t mention ordering.
Which alternatives run on Android?
Plan to Eat, Prepear and Samsung Food all run on Android, iPhone and the web. Fixins runs on iPhone with iOS 26 or later, in the United States and Canada.
Who it suits
Who each is best for
Fixins
iPhone cooks who want to scan what they have and cook a creator recipe tonight.
Plan to Eat
Planners who keep their own family recipes in one place, put them on a calendar and shop from one organized list.
Prepear
People who want a free place to save recipes, plan the week and send the grocery list to Walmart for pickup or delivery.
Samsung Food
People who want a free planner with a large public recipe library, shared grocery lists and delivery from partner retailers.
Facts checked on October 4, 2026. Each fact links to the page it came from. “Not stated on its listing” means that page doesn’t say.
Cook a creator’s recipe tonight.
On iPhone. Scan your kitchen, see what you can cook tonight.
